Wark/Kohen Awards

Nomination Deadline: May 7, 2019


Each year the Minnesota Society of Clinical Hypnosis presents two awards that honor two active MSCH members who have made outstanding commitments to our organization.

David M. Wark, Ph.D. Outstanding Teacher Award
This award recognizes excellence in teaching, advising, program innovation and development, and educational leadership.

Daniel P. Kohen, M.D. Outstanding Clinician Award
This award recognizes outstanding leadership in the clinical practice, teaching, and utilization of therapeutic hypnosis.


Each award recipient must:

  • be a current member of MSCH,
  • demonstrate a strong commitment to the service of our organization,
  • actively participate in MSCH activities,
  • NOT be a current board member of MSCH.

Award Presentation

Awards will be presented during lunch at the annual MSCH workshop in June.

How to Nominate

Any MSCH member with knowledge of an outstanding teacher or clinician can make a nomination by completing the form below or writing a brief letter and submitting it to the President of our organization. All nominations must be received by April 30th of the award year.

My Nomination for the David Wark Award

Reasons for nomination

My Nomination for the Daniel Kohen Award

Reasons for nomination

Your Email

Past Award Winners

YearWark Award WinnerKohen Award Winner
2019Gregory Heberlein, MA, LPJennifer Stoos, MS, MFT
2018not awardedGlenn Frisch, DC
2017Delle Jacobs, MSW, LICSWRichard Duus, PhD, LP
2016Michael LaCrosse, PhDAlfred Clavel, Jr., MD
2015Peggy Trezona, MS, RN, CSAndrew J. Barnes, MD, MPH
2014Denise D’Aurora MEd, LPWendy Lemke MS, LP
2013Kate Pfaffinger PhD, LPTeena Moy PhD, LP
2012Richard Studer MA, LMFT, LT, LICSWnot awarded
2011Beverly Caruso MSWSuzanne Candell PhD, LP
2010not awardednot awarded
2009Jack S. Rusinoff MAKevin Harrington PhD
2008John Sowada MA, LPEwa Peczalska PhD, LP
2007David Alter PhDJean Manlove ACSW, LICSW
2006Mark B. Wiesberg PhD, ABPPHelen C. Paul PhD
2005Roni J. Ahern MA, LPRalph E. McKinney PhD
2004David M. Wark PhDDaniel P. Kohen MD